Eastern Pennsylvania Horseshoe Pitchers Association

EPHPA Directors Meeting

Selinsgrove Indoor Facility

November 9, 2019


Tom Reuther opened the meeting at 12:15 p.m.


·       There were 19 members present.


·       The minutes from the April Members meeting were read.  One correction to the April 28th meeting was Tom Reuther will ask Lee Estep to post on our website that we are looking for a regional director.  Mike Taylor made a motion to approve the minutes with the correction and David Jadlocki seconded. 


Officer Reports:


Secretary, President, Vice Presidents (David Jadlocki, Justn Foster, Randy Zeiders), Assistant Regional Director (Eric Brown): nothing to report


Treasurer:  Denny Hall reported in Rob Dietz’s absence.  Balance: $26,342.94   Still to be deducted is checks for Point Championpships and state doubles plagues.  Rick Hawk made a motion to approve the treasurer report and seconded by David Jadlocki.  Denny Hall will purchase a $10,000 CD.  Rob Dietz has resigned as treasurer and Denny Hall self-nominated to be new treasurer.  Rick Hawk made a motion to approve Denny Hall as our new treasurer and David Jadlocki seconded the motion.  All approved.  David Holliday suggested an audit before the April 2020 meeting, the audit will be done by the directors.  Rick Hawk made a motion to have an audit; seconded by David Jadlocki.  All approved.


Web Master:  Lee Estep announced that she has changed the links for the 2000-2005 tournament stats.  Lee asked everyone to look over the website and contact her if there are any corrections.   Lee Estep will resign as web master effective March 14, 2020.  Casey Carver will be the new web master.  The cost of the web site has increased from $12.95/mo to $14.99/mo.  The site has 2524 new visitors.


Old Business:


Medical Exemptions:  none


Fall Club Challenge:  Selinsgrove won the Fall 2019 Challenge which was the most well-balanced challenge held yet. 


Points Championship payout:  1st Richard Connelly; 2nd Walter Burtner; 3rd Randy Zeiders


State Tournament;  The 2020 state tournament will be held by the East at Huntington.  Motion by Dale Estep and seconded by Rick Hawk.


Hall of Fame:  Dave Fisher will be chairman for next 2 years. 


Search for Regional Director:  Search is closed Jean Olsen will be the new regional director and Eric Brown will be the Assistant Director.



New Business:


Farm Show:  David Holliday reported the horseshoe pitching contest will be held on January 7, 2020, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. in the Equestrian Arena.  Ron Baker will organize with Jerry Hoy and Dick Scott helping.  We will hand out bracelets again this year at a cost of $260.  The left-over bracelets from 2019 will be used and for the future, bracelets will be made without a date on them.  Steve Strausbaugh will be contacted to bring 7 portable pits again.  The payout monies will be the same as last year.  Parking passes will be the same as last year.


NHPA Charter:  Denny Hall reported beginning October 1st membership can now be done online at www.nhpa-eshoe.com.  Paper memberships cards will not be issued if done online but Denny Hall will still do 2020 memberships for the East and issue you a card.  If membership is done online, the NHPA will eventually send the club their portion, doing it through Denny Hall. Denny will keep the club’s portion before sending NHPA their amount.


Spring Club Challenge and Membership Meeting:  To be held on April 26, 2020 at Carlisle meeting will start at 11:00 a.m. and club challenge will start at 1:00 p.m.   


Miscellaneous New Business:

·       Tom Reuther thanked the Selinsgrove Club for redoing the indoor pits.

·       Eric Brown made a motion for the EPHPA to pay the entry to the World Tournament for each Pennsylvania’s 1st place pithers.  This was tabled until our April meeting.

·       The club showed appreciated and thanks to Lee Estep for her 20 years of service.

·       Summer Schedule: confirmed and to be posted on EPHPA Website


Rick Hawk made a motion to adjourn the meeting and seconded by Mike Taylor.  Meeting was adjourned at 1:30 p.m.



Members Present:

Tom Reuther

Karen Connelly

David Jadlocki

Deb Jadlocki

Bob Myers

Walter Burtner

Rick Hawk

Dale Estep

Lee Estep

Denny Hall

Randy Zeiders

Roger Wandell

Donald Bubb

Martin Bubb

Michael Taylor

Justin Foster

Brad Barger

David Holliday

Eric Brown